The high-level advisory group believes visa exemption for tourists from EU countries, the United States, Canada, Australia, Hong Kong and Taiwan would benefit the country’s tourism.

The proposal suggested citizens from certain countries could be eligible for a 14 to 30-day visa-free stay.

Other recommendation included streamlining visa procedures and adding visa-on-arrival facilities at overland checkpoints.

Vietnam already allows nationals of 17 countries to enter the country without a visa. The length of stay differs.

Citizens of Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Singpore, Thailand and Kyrgyzstan get a visa-free stay of up to 30 days.

Citizens of the Philippines get 21 days.

Citizens of Denmark, Finland, Norway, Sweden, Russia, Japan, and South Korea get 15 days.

Citizens of Brunei and Myanmar for 14 days.

All travellers can visit Phu Quoc for 30 days without a visa, but they must, either enter through the island’s seaport, or through its airport after transiting through Hanoi or Ho Chi Minh City’s international airports.

By Wanwisa Ngamsangchaikit - TTR Weekly - June 11, 2014